(859) 323-9770 info@blackburnlab.com Lab Login
Jessica Blackburn

Jessica Blackburn

Principal Investigator

B.S. Centre College
Ph.D. Dartmouth Medical School
Post-doctoral Fellow, Harvard University

Email: jsblackburn@uky.edu
Phone: (859) 323-9770
Twitter: @TheBlackburnLab

Shaw Powell

Shaw Powell

Laboratory Manager

B.A. Eastern Kentucky University

Email: shaw.powell@uky.edu

Stephen Dockins

Stephen Dockins

Laboratory Technician

B.S. Centre College
M.S. University of Kentucky

Email: stephen.dockins@uky.edu

Project: Modeling oncogenic chromosomal translocations using CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing

The goal of this project is to recreate chromosomal translocation events commonly found in pediatric cases of acute lymphoblastic leukemia using zebrafish as a model organism. We are using CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing technology to produce these translocations with the intent to optimize a streamlined protocol.

Rachel Sieg

Rachel Sieg

PhD Candidate

B.A. Hanover College

Email: sieg.rachel@uky.edu

Min Wei

Min Wei

PhD Candidate

B.S. Peking University
M.S. Sun Yet-sen University

Email: mwe245@g.uky.edu

Meghan Green Haney

Meghan Green Haney

MD/PhD Candidate

B.S. Denison University

Email: meghan.green@uky.edu
Webpage: https://mdphd.med.uky.edu/users/mmgr235

Project: Identifying novel therapeutics to inhibit leukemia stem cell self-renewal pathways

My current research focuses on leukemia stem cell signaling and self-renewal pathways. Leukemia stem cells make up a very small population of leukemia cells and are responsible for leukemia relapse in vivo. We are looking at the signaling pathways in these stem cells trying to find drug targets to block self-renewal of these cells. We are using zebrafish as a model organism as they allow for in vivo study of leukemia stem cells and large volume drug screens. 

Caroline Smith

Caroline Smith

PhD Candidate

B.S. Bellarmine University

Email: caroline.smith2@uky.edu

Hallie Hensley

Hallie Hensley

Undergraduate Researcher

Major: Biology

Email: hallie.hensley@uky.edu

Sydney Lammers

Sydney Lammers

Undergraduate Researcher

Major: Human Health Sciences

Email: sydneylammers@uky.edu

Henry Moore

Henry Moore

Undergraduate Researcher

Major: Agricultural and Medical Biotechnology

Career Training in Oncology Program

Email: lhmo224@g.uky.edu

Kristin O’Leary

Kristin O’Leary

Undergraduate Researcher

Major: Agricultural and Medical Biotechnology
Career Training in Oncology Program

Email: kristino30@uky.edu

Shea Hausmann

Shea Hausmann

MSTC Program Student Researcher

Paul Laurence Dunbar High School